Akwa Ibom State Government has prohibited the activities of 64 cult groups and other violent behaviour in the state.

Governor Udom Emmanuel signed the law on Monday in Uyo, declaring illegal the operations of cult organisations in secondary and primary schools in the State.

The proscription is under the Cultism and Other Violent Behaviour Prohibition Order 2020 in pursuant to section 70 of the Criminal Code, Laws of Akwa Ibom State.

The banned groups are Vikings, Black Axe, KKK, Buccaneers, Mafias, Luttox a.k.a Junior Black Axe, Debam, Dewell, Icelanders, Redskins, Pirates, Amoc, Akwa Marines and Utoto groups (419).

Others include September 11, Secret sons of Satan, King Cobra, Junior Vikings (JV), Bats, Predators, Black Ladies, Black Cross, Scavengers, Skylolo, Sons of Nights, Blood Brotherhood, Junior Buccaneers,White Angel’s and Musket, Daughters of Queen Amina, Lion, Leo Line, Neo Black movement of Africa. Temple of Eden, Daughters of Jezebel, Amazon, Black Brazier, Barracudas, Black Berret, The Dragon, Red Devil, Blood Suckers, Scorpion, Black Eye, Eyie, Sons of Nights, White Angels, Yellow Ribbon and Python.

Also proscribed are Black Sword, Supreme Dreadlock, Black Heart, Black Dagger,white Brothers,High Mafia, Street Mafia, Family Mafia, Supreme Redskin, Italian Mafia, Separate Brothers confraternity and Clansmen.

The law, which comes into effect immediately, said defaulters shall be prosecuted in accordance with the Cultism, Offensive Weapons and Violent Behavior 2004 or any other enabling law.

It also revoked the 2018 Cultism and other Violent Behaviour Order.

The Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Barr. Uwemedimo Nwoko, explained that the new law is more comprehensive than the 2018 Prohibition.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here