Former Governor of Kano, Rabiu Kwankwaso,  Senator Dino Melaye, and 13 other Senators from the All Progressives Congress (APC) have defected to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki made the announcement on Tuesday during plenary.

Other Senators who also decamped  include Barnabas Gemade of Benue State, Shaaba Lafiaji, Kwara; Rafiu Ibrahim, Kwara; Abdulazeez Nyako, Adamawa; Monsurat Sunmonu, Oyo; and Usman Nafada of Gombe.

Senators Suleiman Hunkuyi, Ibrahim Danbaba, Ubale Shittu, Isah Misau, Suleiman Nazif, and Rafiu Ibrahim also joined the defection team.

After the announcement by the Senate President, some Senators started chanting “PDP”, in the chamber.

However the Senate Leader, Ahmed Lawan, during plenary, appealed to the defecting Senators not to defect.

He noted that the ruling party APC has its own internal disagreement but “this does not translate to factionalization, therefore, they (Senators) have no reason to defect”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here