There was jubilation at the House of Representatives (Senate) following the defection of 37 lawmakers from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), with 33 lawmakers defecting to the opposition, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) while four joined the African Democratic Congress (ADC).

This comes after Senator Dino Melaye, former Governor of Kano, Rabiu Kwankwaso and 13 other Senators defected to the PDP, as announced by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, during plenary on Tuesday.

The defecting Reps are Danburam Nuhu, Mark Gbilah, Razak Atunwa, Ahmed Garba Bichi, Abdulsamad Dasuk and Zakari Mohammed, Sani Rano, Barry Mpigi, Ali madaki, Dickson Tackighir, Hassan Saleh.

Also, the Chairman of Rules and Business at the House of Representatives, Orker Jev has resigned from the APC but is yet to disclose which party he would be joining.

Meanwhile, the APC lawmakers want the party to challenge the legality of the defection, they are asking for the seats of the defectors to be declared vacant.

Following the development, the Senate Minority Leader, Sen. Godswill Obot Akpabio, stands a chance to becoming the Senate Majority Leader.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here